Chasing Rainbows

First of all, I blame my mother for the inspiration for this post (Thanks, Mom!), since she was the one who recommend that I read this book by Jon Acuff.

It’s called Start: Punch Fear in the Face, Escape Average and Do Work that Matters, and it has gotten me thinking about what my passions are and what my goals for the future are looking like right now.

Now, I have a confession to make: I normally don’t read inspirational books about following your dreams because I generally feel like a LOT of these kinds of books are a load of horse manure that promises better things to come if you are willing to “work hard” or “put your time in.”

Anyway, for some reason, I actually picked up the book and began to read it this week (probably because I had morning duty at school, and I HATE morning duty). I had some time to read while I was monitoring the hallway, making sure students weren’t getting up to any shenanigans before classes started for the day, and while I was reading, I realized that I have just been plugging along at “average” this past year, trying to get my life together after having breast cancer in 2013 (I know, it’s been two years, but I’m telling you it has taken this long for me to feel even a little bit close to normal after my ordeal).

I DON’T WANT TO BE AVERAGE. I was that kid in school whom everyone hated because I always had to make sure I was doing everything correctly in class, which led to my asking about five hundred questions per assignment each day. I wanted to be EXCEPTIONAL. Honestly, I still want to be exceptional, but that is a whole lot harder to do as a grown adult.

Mr. Acuff recommends sitting down at a computer (or taking out a sheet of paper) and writing down a list of things you feel passionately about as an individual and making these your goals. To me this makes a lot of sense, so I decided to take to this blog (since it has been a while since I posted last) and write my list, so here goes nothing:

  1. Acting
  2. Teaching
  3. Writing
  4. Inspiring and encouraging other people
  5. Flipping/creating/designing things for my newly bought house
  6. Disney (there, I said it… working for the Mouse for a year left its mark)
  7. Spending time with my family (husband and cats)

Now, you might say, “Well, you’re a drama teacher, aren’t you, Christina? Seems like you’re doing pretty ok on at least part of that list,” which is true (don’t get me wrong, I love my job, and I wouldn’t trade anything for it, but sometimes, I can get bogged down with other people’s baggage); however, I really would like to spend time focusing on some of the other things on my list as well.

I am making it my personal goal to try to spend more time incorporating the other items on my list into my daily life, so I can go from being “average” to “exceptional.”

I am going to try to keep updating you (my followers) on the kind of progress I am making, and I challenge you to do the same thing. Let me know how it’s going for you in the comments!

Also, I definitely recommend picking up Jon Acuff’s book and at least giving it a try. The link at the top will take you to the Amazon page for it.

Leave a Reply

