A Funny Thing Happened on the Way to the Ice Cream Shop…

Although it’s been a while since I have posted, I really wanted to share what a wonderful evening I had today, together with my husband, Nolan.

My husband Nolan and I right after we got married
Here’s a picture of us together, in case you weren’t quite sure what he looked like 🙂

As some of you may know, we have been trying to close on a house since February (the process has taken QUITE a long time, but that’s a whole different story). Nolan and I have been going back and forth with our realtor, underwriter, lender, etc. for the past week, and it has been an extremely trying experience, so I suggested that we go out to Scoops Ice Cream on the square in Covington to clear our heads and maybe get a little bit of fresh air (and a new perspective on our very stressful house-buying experience).

Some of you may not realize that going out for ice cream is definitely NOT a common occurrence for Nolan and me: our ideal date nights usually consist of binge-watching shows on Netflix with a giant tub of popcorn in our pajamas.

We headed out to the square to get some ice cream, but Nolan decided that instead of ice cream, he wanted to get a milkshake from the Square Perks Cafe (another fabulous place for those of you in the Covington area hankering for some gourmet coffee, since the nearest Starbucks is about 20 minutes away). I still wanted ice cream, so we of course had to go back to Scoops. Nolan decided to sit outside of the ice cream store in a rocking chair, since he didn’t want to be rude by bringing in food from a different place (he actually is very polite, when he decides to be). I went in to get some Cappuccino Chip ice cream in a chocolate-dipped cone (which is absolutely just as tasty and unhealthy as you would expect an ice cream with a name like Cappuccino Chip to be, DON’T JUDGE ME).

Upon my return from getting ice cream, I discovered that a couple had sat down right next to Nolan in two of the other rocking chairs in front of Scoops. Now, since I am from the suburbs “North of Atlanta,” it didn’t particularly occur to me that sometimes you can talk to strangers, and IT’S ACTUALLY OK! I was brought up to be fairly wary of people I don’t know, so you can imagine my surprise when Nolan and I became involved in a three-hour-long conversation with two complete strangers, sitting in rocking chairs on a pleasantly warm summer evening, outside of an ice cream shop.

I feel that after this experience, I have truly been introduced to the “small-town” way of life… and I LIKE it! I have made two new friends that I would never have met without making an ice cream run at 8:00 in the evening and taking the time to get to know two completely new people. Let me tell you, this was absolutely one of the most memorable evenings of my life.

On our way home from our meeting with our new-found friends, I told Nolan that I didn’t realize how much I needed that experience. I really do feel blessed that we were in the right place at the right time to be reminded that there are people who care enough out in the world to ask complete strangers, “How are you today?” and really, truly mean it from their hearts. This conversation made my evening tonight, and I am truly thankful.

Leave a Reply

